FOXBOROUGH, Mass. (AP) — For the first time since 2008 the Patriots will not be the AFC East champions.

The Buffalo Bills improved to 10-3 overall and 7-2 in the conference with their 26-15 win over the Pittsburgh Steelers on Sunday. It eliminated the hopes of New England (6-7, 5-4) to extend its NFL-record run of 11 consecutive division titles.

The last time the Patriots failed to win the division was 2008 when Tom Brady suffered a season-ending injury in the opener.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Coming out of the weekend (including Monday night's thriller), the playoff picture looks like this:


  • Green Bay Packers (Clenched NFC North) 10-3 *
  • New Orleans Saints (Clenched playoff spot) 10-3
  • Los Angeles Rams (Leading NFC West) 9-4
  • Washington Football Team (Leading NFC East) 6-7
  • Seattle Seahawks (2nd in NFC West) 9-4
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2nd in NFC South) 8-5
  • Arizona Cardinals (3rd in NFC West) 7-6


  • Kansas City Chiefs (Clenched AFC West) 12-1*
  • Pittsburgh Steelers (Leading AFC North) 11-2
  • Buffalo Bills (Leading AFC East) 10-3
  • Tennessee Titans (Leading AFC South) 9-4
  • Cleveland Browns (2nd in AFC North) 9-4
  • Indianapolis Colts (2nd in AFC South) 9-4
  • Miami Dolphins (2nd in AFC East) 8-5

*This year only the top seed will get a first round bye, due to the expansion to 7-team playoffs in each conference.

The Minnesota Vikings are just outside of the current NFC playoff field after falling to the Buccaneers on Sunday. They have a 6-7 record going into this weekend's game.

More From 106.5 The FAN